A GREAT NIGHT AT THE KIMMEL CENTER

Last night’s program was near perfection for me: ravelpic

Ravel’s Piano Concerto For The Left Hand,

his La Valse, Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances

(which I hadn’t heard before but enjoyed as I do most of his work)

and Liszt’s Totentanz.

For those of you who can spare the four minutes for a lift here’s a video of  the concluding section of the Piano Concerto. 

It was written in 1930 as a commission from pianist Paul Wittgenstein who had lost his right arm in World War I.

Another well-known favorite by Ravel is his Pavane For A Dead Princess, which can be heard here:

I was struck by this video because the 1889 painting _MG_0704 300of White Face Mountain is the same vista seen in some of my Lake Placid images.  (There.  I’ve gotten a picture of mine into my photo journal!)  More Lake Placid scenes here.

An overwhelming feeling I had during the concert is that there is still such beauty and magnificence in a world in which we are too often confronted with brutality and evil.  There is hope.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers