NEW YEAR’S DAY IN WHITESBOG – 1/1/10

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

Today’s forecast was decent; not much sun but no gale winds so I drove down to Whitesbog.  It was a great day; briskly cold, some occasional thin sun, and peacefully quiet.  The kind of quiet that you suddenly notice. My only company was, from time to time, three pickups and a van.  As you can see below, the slushy village street was empty, the old workers’ houses moody in the thin sun but with some modest touches for the winter holiday.

Even on a largely overcast winter day there is beauty to be seen and enjoyed. On the right below, an ice-tree.

Here’s a typical pond, created by overflow from an adjacent bog. Its attractiveness is enhanced by the ice and the few remaining patches of snow.

Finally, my colleague, Lou Dallara, had a lovely image of a clump of pine needles with snow on them as his first blog image of the new year.  See his blog , scroll-find and click on Pine Needles.   It brightened my day.  The image below is the closest I could come.  The snow’s gone but I loved the remaining droplets.

5 Responses to “NEW YEAR’S DAY IN WHITESBOG – 1/1/10”

  1. Vince Rossi Says:

    Gee! you guys were just 10 minutes away from Sue and I where we live in Whiting. Next time you are going to be in the area give us a shout.

  2. Kathleen Says:

    Very nicely done and I like all these winter photos. It’s great how you caught the droplets on the pine needles.

  3. Lou Dallara Says:

    Great ones Ralph ! I like the shot down that dirt road, look like a very old town, yep, a real Piney could live there.

  4. denisebushphoto Says:

    Very nice! I like the crack in the ice photo — it looks like a tree. That’s neat that they decorate the buildings with the evergreen and ribbons!

  5. Kathleen Says:

    No sure why my post does not show up but I really like all these photos at Whitesbog. Brrrrrrrr

    Regards,
    Kathy


Leave a Reply

