ANTIQUES AND A VALENTINE’S DAY TRAIN – 02/14/10

First, my Valentine’s Day Card(inal).

I drove up to Lambertville for a nice lunch and to browse the antiques shops.  I didn’t buy anything but I did find some fine engravings by Axel Haig which made me appreciate mine a little more.  It was a gift from a childhood friend whose father had acquired it while studying architecture in Paris.  ( Haig had been an architectural draftsman as well as an artist.)  It’s a scene of a gothic cathedral interior, signed and dated 1895.  Unfortunately it got  torn and, so, hangs only in my basement.  I’ve always liked it.

In crossing the bridge to New Hope I spotted this colorful holiday arrangement in the window box of the bridge tender’s office.

I then headed up Bridge Street in New Hope and crossed this snowy set of rails. 

I was able to park right there and as I got out to photograph the tracks, wow!…came the body-vibrating blare of a diesel locomotive’s horn.  What joy for a train enthusiast.   Here came the New Hope and Ivyland train returning from an excursion trip through the Bucks County Farmland.  Lucky Ducks!

4 Responses to “ANTIQUES AND A VALENTINE’S DAY TRAIN – 02/14/10”

  1. Marie Judge Says:

    Your pictures and comments of New Hope bring back many happy memories for me because it was always a favorite destination of ours. Thanks for sharing! My personal favorite was the window box—just because of its whimsy.
    M

  2. Louis Dallara Says:

    Very nice capture of the Cardinal. I also enjoyed the train ride. lol

  3. Kathleen Says:

    Ralph, wow, that Cardinal is just grand. How did you do that?? LOL
    Lambertville is wonderful in the snow and you sure captured it. I love trains too. Nice collection of photos. 🙂

  4. Small Town Spotlight: New Hope, Pennsylvania - Hopper Blog Says:

    […] Antiques and a Valentine’s Day Train Ralph Berglund – February 17, 2010 […]


Leave a Reply

