VALLEY FORGE IN WINTER – 02/20/10

I went to one of the big Greenberg Train Shows last Saturday at the Valley Forge Expo Center.  A good show and I was separated from some of my money.  Afterwards I always enjoy driving through the nearby Valley Forge Park.  Especially with our unusually snowy winter one appreciates what they endured there in the 1777-78 encampment.  Washington is quoted as saying ” . . . you might have tracked the army from White Marsh to Valley Forge by the blood of their feet.”  Now, it’s a lovely place to visit, to hike, run, or to run your dog.  The park has either a deer problem, or beautiful deer depending on your view.

Here were a couple running their dog.  In the background, the 1953 National Patriots Bell Tower and Carillon, an outgrowth of work begun in 1926 and part of the Washington Memorial Chapel.

Winter and the snow silence the park.  The cannon seem anomalous but silenced also.  Here one has taken aim at the National Memorial Arch dedicated in 1917.   I remember running down the hill in front of this arch during a grade school trip there…….

3 Responses to “VALLEY FORGE IN WINTER – 02/20/10”

  1. Marie Judge Says:

    When the snow was at its heaviest, I found myself wondering what your next photographic jaunt would take you. Today I know.

    Thank you for sharing.

    M

  2. John Costello Says:

    Hi Ralph,

    Remind me to tell you about my adventure in the snow at Valley Forge park with the Boy Scouts. (I was about 50 then and troop committee chairman)

    John

    • Ralph Berglund Says:

      Thanks for your Vermont comments. You must have not had a lott to do on Saturday and wound up surfing blogs. I’ll look forward to hearing of your Valley Forge adventure; herding scouts is probably a mixed bag. You said that you were 50; were Washington and his troops still there then?


Leave a Reply

