A WALK IN SMITH’S WOODS – 04/10/2010

Yesterday I hosted a camera club how-to-do-it work shop on Pbase, the on-line photo gallery service which I’ve used for five years now.  I’ve mounted some 150 different galleries, hosting over 1400 images, plus a private set of 34 galleries for another group, and I’ve had over 176,000 views over the years.  You can visit the galleries here.    It was a pleasant and I think useful gathering.  What was also nice is that the group stayed on for a spirited and useful discussion of whether photos containing added elements should be allowed in competitions.  Such elements, e.g. storm clouds replacing a bland cloud cover over a rough sea can be readily done in Photoshop.  The ethical question is: Is that Photography or Photoshoppery?  The operative word for me is competitions since I think it’s perfectly acceptable to add to images to improve them for “art’s” sake,  personal enjoyment or sale, and I’ve done some of this, myself. 

Anyway, after all of that intense thinking and discussion it was such a beautiful day that I knew there were scenes needing to be photographed.  I drove over to the Smith’s Woods part of the Burlington County Smithville Park and enjoyed an hour and a half there, taking in the scene on a nice walk.

A creek runs alongside the woods on its way to the falls at Smithville.

There’s a lot of bright green emerging although we’re a few weeks away from any wildflowers.

 

Finally, reality occasionally but necessarily intrudes.  Oh well, simply turn around and return through the woods.

Smith's Woods' Power Line

2 Responses to “A WALK IN SMITH’S WOODS – 04/10/2010”

  1. Kathleen Says:

    Ralph,
    Very nice reflection. It was a nice day for a walk. Ahhhh, Spring is finally here.

  2. denisebushphoto Says:

    I like the new look of your blog Ralph! I especially like the last photo … you already have an entry for next year’s assigned topic, ‘communication’! I like the juxtaposition of natural and man-made.


Leave a Reply

