THE PHILADELPHIA ZOO

I was worried that my shutter release might be rusted in place.  I haven’t used it for a month and no serious photography for two months.  A root canal put me out of action for one weekend.  Other opportunities were impacted by …. life ….. and by the heat.   Yesterday I was bent and determined to get out.  Some thought was given to Gettysburg until I spent some time Friday morning on an outdoor project  which made it clear that a weekend trip in this heat was not a “cool” idea.  So, instead, a short trip to the Philadelphia Zoo which I haven’t visited for too many years.  Yes, it was hot, but it was a pleasant experience until I finally gave in to the heat and, wilted, returned to the airco.  My first sight was this handsome fellow above, doing what we all should have been doing … cooling off.

I had hoped to see the elephants but this was the best I could do.

 The zoo had to relocate its elephants; one to the Tennesee Elephant Sanctuary in 2007, and the last two to the Pittsburgh Zoo in 2009.  The problem?  Money.  The Zoo concluded they needed $22 million to build a proper environment, and it wasn’t in the cards.

The big cats were next on my list but they were, prudently, sleeping.  It was a good idea. 

 

This fountain also seemed like a good place to be.

 

The heat began to have its effect on me so I skipped the face-painting opportunity and called it a day.  BTW, I enjoyed getting there via the Philadelphia Phlash trolley which runs every 12 minutes on a 27 stop route from Penns Landing out to the Please Touch Museum in Fairmount Park’s Memorial Hall.

4 Responses to “THE PHILADELPHIA ZOO”

  1. Kathleen Says:

    Hi Ralph,
    The Zoo is one of my favorite places to go. Great shot of the Hippo and the water is so clean, at least is it in this photo. Looks like you had fun. Stay cool.

  2. Marie Judge Says:

    LOVED YOUR SUGGESTIONS AND AM ADDING ONE MORE—
    AC AND A GOOD BOOK!

  3. Marie Judge Says:

    Ralph,

    I do believe it is correctly spelled Fairmount Park instead of “Fairmont”.

    It’s all about “u”.

    M


Leave a Reply

