BARNEGAT LIGHT – FALL GETS SERIOUS

It’s been a hectic October….a workshop on Cape Cod, a workshop on Acadia Island, preparing for three juried exhibitions, and preparing and presenting a talk on my photography in recent years.  In between I finally cut the cord and moved from the beach back to my winter cave.  Yesterday was my first sort of day off with nothing pressing.  So, back to the beach for the day, a lot windier, colder, and threatening than my last nap on the beach, October 9th.  But, of course, all seasons have their beauty demanding to be photographed.

Old Barney on a late fall day.

I know, I know….do we need another shot of Old Barney?  Well, it’s my blog so the answer is yes but particularly because of the stunning clouds.  And, and, did you notice that bright spot of cloud just behind the light chamber, itself?

A head boat coming in Barnegat inlet.

There were brave souls fishing along the inlet jetty and also going out in small boats  Here came a head boat after a morning’s fishing.  It was said that the stripers were running and, indeed, my son-in-law, Bob, had a small group out on his boat and they came home with a 25 pounder.

The gull below was soaring on the wind in slow motion just above some of the jetty fishermen, hoping for a snack.

The view of the beach from the trail through the dunes was striking and  beautiful.

Driving back from Barnegat to head home I decided to pull off into a dead end in Surf City for a pre-trip nap.  This is the view that I drove into, of the causeway and Barnegat Bay with the clouds scudding by and a squally wind churning up the surf.   No nap.

 For my fellow gearheads, the above image was derived from three bracketed exposures, using Photomatix and applying a painterly effect.

3 Responses to “BARNEGAT LIGHT – FALL GETS SERIOUS”

  1. Kathleen Says:

    Photos tell a wonderful story Ralph. I like your HDR effect too. Welcome back.

  2. Sally Vennel Says:

    Nice work again, Ralph. While you were out doing creative things I was at home, thinking about it!! Clue me in next spring/fall if you are doing a good workshop, perhaps I can sign up too. Have you ever gone to photograph the wolves at Lakota Wolf Preserve in Columbia, NJ?? Have thought about it for years. If you are interested next spring I would like to do it.

  3. NiceArtLife Says:

    Impressive skies and water as far as you can see, amazing! Nice light tower.


Leave a Reply

