MAURICETOWN BECKONS ON A COLD DAY

As I’ve mentioned before in this journal I enjoy getting down to the Mauricetown, NJ area a couple of times a year. The periodic antique show held at the firehouse is a good excuse to make the trip. The show yielded nothing new for my collections but I enjoyed it as well as just driving around through this 19th century seaport town along the Maurice River.

The town is spruced up for the season and, in particular, for their House Tours the weekend of December 11th.  I’m tempted to drive back down again.

Then it was off to the surrounding area, to the quiet roads of Shellpile, Bivalve, and Port Norris, and Dorchester to Leesburg to Heislerville to the east point of the Maurice River.  It was high tide as seen in this tidal creek which I crossed on the way out to the point.

Out at the point near the East Point Lighthouse I was exposed to the open Delaware Bay and 15 to 20 knot westerlies.  Although it was only in the high 30’s the windchill made it difficult to use my fingers on my camera.  I didn’t stay long but it was worth it to me.

It was actually better than advertised as the Weather Channel had forecast solid cloud cover for most of the day.  As it was, the chunks of cloud just hadn’t quite come together.  One last image which I converted to black and white to reflect the tone of the waning, blustery, cold November day:

11 Responses to “MAURICETOWN BECKONS ON A COLD DAY”

  1. dick webber Says:

    ralph your pics are always beatiful. im still into film and have been published in shutterbug mag page 16 mar 2010 as has my grand daughter carly cassara on page 24 june 2009. she is also on flicker and is an expert on band photograhy

    • Ralph Berglund Says:

      Thanks, Dick. Unfortunately, I don’t save back issues so I couldn’t see your work. BTW, I had dinner with Ross and Mary Lou Saturday night and we discussed how fortunate we are to have a great post-retirement interest, his art and my photography.

  2. Del Cannon Says:

    Hope you had your “longies” on. It looks cold.
    D

  3. Kathleen Says:

    Once again Ralph, your photography is beautiful. I really like the Barn with the Wreath and the Tidal photo. You are very brave to have been out there yesterday, I don’t tolerate the cold, it must be my age, :).

  4. Sally Vennel Says:

    Nice photo’s again, Ralph. You are inspiring me to get off the island more next year. Check out my blog. I posted some of my last in Surf City yesterday. We are back in Colorado snow country now – where I should start doing some B&W.

    • Ralph Berglund Says:

      Thanks, Sally. I just reviewed your posts since late September and they’re great. I’ve signed on as a Follower so that I don’t get behind. Your title for the shack needs a fix. BTW I’ve never seen the flood tide around it. I loved that sequence of Fall images.

  5. Jeff Lovinger Says:

    Beautiful set of images Ralph. The holiday feel really comes through.
    I love the b/w image, brrrrrr.
    Provincetown is all decked out for the holidays. Great photo ops,especially at dusk with all the holiday lights.
    I’ve been so busy organizing my winter trip to India, that I haven’t even been out shooting. I’ve got to change that.
    Happy Holidays.

    • Ralph Berglund Says:

      Thanks, Jeff. I’m sitting here surfing the web and enjoying coffee from one of those mugs that has your panorama of P’town’s waterfront at twilight. Beautiful, and reminds me of a fun few days at your workshop.

  6. Ross Webber Says:

    Ralph:

    Beautiful shots. Happy to see that are in communication with my brother Dick. Photography has been a life long
    passion with him – as it was for our father.


Leave a Reply

