DID ANYBODY SEE WHICH WAY JULY WENT?

July and I had been getting along pretty well.  Oh I know there were the occasional thunder storms and a couple days of fog and some stinky hot days.  But all in all we had a lot of good days together.  I don’t know what I said or did that upset things.  I thought we had pretty well bonded.  Then the next thing I know, July snuck out of town late last night without saying goodbye to anyone.  Oh, well, I’m told it’ll be back next year.  Meanwhile it left some pleasant memories.

The last fishing pier piling.

In my ten years in Beach Haven there have always been three pilings here on the beach, left over from the 1896 fishing pier that was destroyed in the 1944 hurricane.  They were a nice setting around which to photograph family groups.  We just have to photograph smaller families now.

Interclub Races

Last week, kids from other sailing clubs on the island gathered at our club for interclub competitions.  Boats included Optis, Lasers, 420’s and a scattering of sunfish.  Talk about herding cats.

Elvis summers at Beach Haven

The weekend before we had a party on the dock to raise funds for the preservation of nearby Mordecai Island which protects about a third of Beach Haven.  Elvis showed up  to entertain the crowd, and he did a good job.

Sailing behind Mordecai Island.

 A typical July twilight blessing. 

I’ll miss July.

3 Responses to “DID ANYBODY SEE WHICH WAY JULY WENT?”

  1. Kathleen Lapergola Says:

    I will also miss July Ralph, endings and new beginnings for me. Great images, now let’s see what you can do with August!!!!

  2. MikeP Says:

    Thank you for this warning Ralph…. only one month left till school. Perfect July post and pics.

  3. Sally Vennel Says:

    I have enjoyed all your posts these past weeks. I am in Colorado, enjoying the cool mountain air and wildflowers. Will get a few photos on my blog soon. Missed seeing you at St Francis Art show, but think you were smart. Sally


Leave a Reply

