FIRST FALL WEEKEND AND A HARVEST MOON

I had read of a Pinelands hike into the Harris Paper Mill ruins for last Saturday.  I was itchy to get off of the beach but not enough for a five mile hike.  Marty Lou and I found the ruins in the early sixties when we were young and carefree and following the trails on the topo maps.  In those days there wasn’t any fencing around the ruins.  Oh, well.  Nevertheless I was beckoned so I drove to Harrisville Lake and walked along the shore for my size of hike.  It made me want to find that topo map and maybe try again sometime.  Here’s a view of the lake.

Harrisville Lake

Discussion:  Dark and no particular “wow” factor but it survived the cut because of the interesting clouds and their reflections, and the presence of two triangles in the composition which they tell us pleases the mind’s eye.  The peaks of those triangles draw the viewer’s eye upstream to … where??

Spillways are like magnets for me.  Here’s a view of the spillway below the Harrisville Lake dam.  The grasses running toward the top of the image drew me in.  The whitish puffs?  Perhaps cotton balls…..too early for snow.

Harrisville Lake dam spillway.

 

THE SEPTEMBER HARVEST MOON

The recent full moon, September 12th, occurring closest to the autumnal equinox is known as the Harvest Moon.  With the data from Stellarium, my astronomical software, I was on the beach and set up well before moon rise.  My fantasy has always been to capture the disk just (or slightly after emerging) with a golden trail of light dappling the surface of the ocean on its way to my lens.  Well, I need not have hurried.  There was a cloud bank offshore that kept the moon from appearing until some 20 minutes later, and it was hazy.   But, we keep trying.  The beach at twilight was lovely while waiting for the moonrise.  There are three ghosts of sanderlings skittering in the foreground for some dinner.

The beach at twilight in September.

With the moon up sufficiently I still couldn’t get my golden trail but the waves on the jetty gave me a nice balance.

The Harvest Moon Above the Jetty.

Finally, when it had risen still higher I was losing the “big” disk but there was my golden trail.

I was so glad to see the golden trail that I tried a little video to watch while I’m hibernating in my cave this winter.

15 Responses to “FIRST FALL WEEKEND AND A HARVEST MOON”

  1. Kathleen Lapergola Says:

    So beautiful Ralph. Love the video, awesome moon trail !!!

  2. Elaine Walsh Says:

    Relaxing to hear the sound of waves crashing and the moon trail coming forward but my favorite is Moon Above the Jetty

  3. Linda Kamholz Says:

    Ralph,

    Nice images and I really like the video you’ve included.
    I’m bound and determined to start a WordPress blog in the next few months and incorporating videos sure does add a lot to the entry.

  4. Julie Says:

    Love those moon pictures…

  5. Bonnie Says:

    I loved hearing the waves in the video. Made me miss the shore even more. Wonderful moon shots.

  6. denisebushphoto Says:

    I too like the ‘Moon Above the Jetty’ and the video is cool too!

  7. MikeP Says:

    Moon over Jetty … great. I am glad you found your golden trail. Love the video of the ocean but I am working on a sound break for you (to keep the wind from hitting the on camera mic). I believe if you hook up or carry with you, so whenever you want to record… a simple inexpensive directional mic with a foam around it. Hey what are compadres for if not to experiment with your cool 7d….. 🙂

  8. terryfic3d Says:

    The paper mill is easy to get to despite the fence. Just follow the fence around clockwise until it ends! To the south of the paper mill along the dirt road you’ll find old cellar holes from houses. Same thing across the highway. Also, notice a canal across the highway. Lots to see in this area. And where do the triangles point? Up one of the best kayaking routes in the Pine Barrens: Oswego Lake to Harrisville Pond (my map shows it as a pond, not a lake).

  9. John Costello Says:

    Wow! The moon and jetty one is wonderful. I’m sure we’ll see it again?
    How did you get the moon trail to bend?

    • Ralph Berglund Says:

      Thanks, John. I noticed the seeming beam shift as well, John. Isn’t light bent by the gravity of nearby objects? 😉

      Actually I think it’s that the right part of the front wave had passed some point at which the surface was no longer incident to the moon beam. If you hold a rule to the left side of the moon beam on your monitor you’ll see it’s pretty straight down to the beach so it’s a matter of something missing on the right rather than a movement of the beam to the left. Whaddya think?


Leave a Reply

