AN ANTIQUE SHOW FIND AND THE MAURICE RIVER AREA

As noted before in this journal one of my favorite antique shows is held twice a year at the Mauricetown, New Jersey firehall.  It’s a nice little show with good food provided by the firefighters and their helpers.  And, of course, it’s a launching point for some favorite areas for photography such as the river front at nearby Shellpile.

I find it increasingly difficult to find things for my collecting interests but Saturday produced a winner.  One of my interests is  early American, ruby-stained, pressed glass that has been souvenired for my old home town, Atlantic City.  These were popular souvenirs purchased on the boardwalk, mostly in the decades either side of 1900.  One also finds them as souvenirs of other times and cities but my collection is exclusively Atlantic City.  I began serious collecting in the 90’s.  Generally restricting myself to one functional piece, i.e. pitcher, tumbler, stem, etc. in a range of sizes per pattern I now have 135 pieces in 40 patterns.  Here’s the piece I stole Saturday.

The theft?  Well, the last time I saw this beautiful and rare pattern was in a 2001 ebay auction when a well-known Moscow collector scarfed it up for $300.  I am not that serious a collector.  But, there it was at $29 and I had the nerve to ask the dealer if he could do any better.  (It’s what one does at such shows.) 

I used to have trouble identifying patterns because there were very few references for a collector.  So, in 2002  I created a website for the glassware with pattern pictures for reference which you can see by clicking here.  This site continues to average between 40 and 50 hits per month; not bad for a narrow, obscure interest.

So then, feeling pretty satisfied with myself, it was off to the river and the Delaware River shore.  Here’s the East Point Lighthouse located, appropriately, on the eastern point of the Maurice River.

Love that red roof.

Here’s the Meerwald oyster schooner mothballed for winter at the under-preservation Bivalve Oyster Packing Docks.  All sealed up but I could hear voices inside, probably doing interior winter maintenance.  (Note to colleagues: this is a handheld HDR composite, shooting into the sunny part of the sky, and using a clone tool to take out some sunspots.)

Some other images along the Delaware River shore:

Some wind blown chop on the beach.

A Tidal Swamp.

Look out! It's going to spill onto your keyboard.

A PLEASING BENCHMARK

As most of you know I maintain a set of photo galleries at www.Pbase.com/BergiesPlace.  I launched that site seven years ago (compared to three years ago for this journal).  The site houses some 2600 images in 250 galleries (1300 images in 135 galleries are public; the remaining galleries are private). 

 I’m very pleased to report that last week I recorded the 300,000th page view on the site.  Thanks all for looking. 

Just as the falling tree makes no sound in the forest if there’s no one there to hear it,

the images don’t convey anything if no one looks at them.

2 Responses to “AN ANTIQUE SHOW FIND AND THE MAURICE RIVER AREA”

  1. Denise Bush Says:

    You could do a coffee table book titled’ ‘Waves’. Congrats on reaching your benchmark. I have thought about the same analogy regarding ‘the tree in the forest’ but never knew how to word it!

    • Ralph Berglund Says:

      Thanks. The area’s kind of like a Catskills thing; I keep going back and keep trying to capture different views.

      I am pleased at the 300,000 pbase page views. Where

        do

      they all come from!?!


Leave a Reply

