THE PHILADELPHIA FLOWER SHOW FOR 2012

This may be the shortest post I’ve done.  I didn’t think there was as much to shoot as in past years.  Lots and lots and lots of orchids.  I missed the great spring flowering gardens of other years; the wild azaleas blooming midst pineland scenes (do you remember Judd’s pine barrens scenes complete with decaying shack?); the great swaths of tulips, daffodils and hyacinths; the beds of perky annuals; the streams and fountains and woodsy gardens.   Oh, well.

Orchids or not I thought this setting was pretty.

The show entrance was awesome for its creativity and supposed evocation of Hawaii.  The idea, I guess, was that you were under the sea, surrounded on three sides and above by the moving water and darting fish.  Interesting,  but  it reminded me of that great Peggy Lee song, “Is that all there is?”

Because of the motion involved I tried to capture the effect with video.

Oh, fortunately, there were lots of the usual beautiful specimen plants including some daffodils, some of the few at this “spring” show.

7 Responses to “THE PHILADELPHIA FLOWER SHOW FOR 2012”

  1. Bonnie Rovere Says:

    I agree with you. I have a few nice shots, but nothing like other years. I did, however, shoot daffadills in my own garden today. That made up for the lack of spring flowers at the show! The entrance there was amazing though. We can always look forward to next year.

  2. Gene Ann Hook Says:

    I agree … very disappointing. I didn’t even care for the entrance. The ‘smell’ wasn’t there… As always appreciate your pictures, Ralph!

  3. Kathleen Lapergola Says:

    Ditto to all the above. Your image of the Daffodils are so pretty Ralph. My Daff’s are starting to bloom and maybe I will get outside for a little bit today and shoot some of my flowers. 🙂

  4. Joanna Patterson Says:

    I didn’t make it to the flower show this year, but if you really want to be overwhelmed, go to Longwood Gardens. The Himalayan poppies in the orangery are just beautiful and that’s just the beginning. They are having an orchid extravaganza. Spectacular! I think the orchids in the main conservatories are not going to be on display too much longer, so check before you go if that’s what you want to shoot. Very little outside yet. I was there om 3/12

  5. Jeanne Says:

    That blue was sensational. We went back to the Flower Show last Saturday, got there very early and loved it. Especially the wall of lettuce. Maybe it needed a second visit.

  6. Denise Bush Says:

    Thanks for sharing Ralph! The first photo matches your blog color perfectly and the video is a cool abstract experience. Thought I was having a lava lamp flashback for a minute! I went to the show last Tues. and hope to make a post this weekend.


Leave a Reply

