SUMMER SNAPSHOTS AND PIXELS FOR POSTERITY

As I drove off of the campus to get to the beach for the summer here was my final shot at the Leas until fall.

These bring back a childhood memory (maybe age 7 or 8) of cutting them at a vacant house and then selling them on my block for $.35 a dozen.   I made enough to pay off my second grade student loans.

My summer revolves around life at the yacht club.  That word “yacht” is a survivor of the days when J. P. Morgan commuted down the Hudson from his summer estate to his bank on Wall Street.  He’s the source of the statement about the cost of his yacht, “If you have to ask how much it costs, you probably can’t afford it.”  The word better applies to the boats of tycoons, Greek shipping magnates and Saudi princes.  Our yacht club “yachts” are just sailboats and a handful of power boats, most smaller than what one would find in the average shore marina. The club today is a social center for parties and dances, serious weekend sailing competitions, book club discussions, recreational sailing, fishing tournaments, tennis, bridge games, sailing instruction, and even bocce and occasional happy hours.

I mentioned a year ago how pleased I was to have four of my images chosen for past annual calendar covers and I was lucky again  this year.

The first big event of the summer was the annual commissioning and reception at the yacht club, this year celebrating its one hundreth year.  The building oozes history, traditions, past commodores whose sons became commodores, and kids who started in the junior sailing program and wound up married in the club, yielding yet more kids in the junior program.  I created this image for the cover of the program for the opening:  It features shots of the club over the years, including a shot of it right after construction was completed in 1916.

After the ceremony and before the bars were opened we managed to corral everyone for a group picture.  It’ll be included in a time capsule to be sealed at the end of this season, to be opened in fifty years.  One of my granddaughters is in the picture and I told her that when it’s opened, she’ll be 67.  Her reaction: “Cool!”  At age 129 I don’t think I’ll be driving down to see the capsule opened.  Pixels for Posterity.  I thought of putting the group shot and lots of other season’s pictures on a flash drive for the time capsule but I wondered if they’d know what to do with it in 50 years.

On July 4th a group of the kids sang Happy Birthday to the club.

As another early summer adventure I tried to shoot the full moon on a couple of nights.  Sunday night, July 1st, was beautiful, and the full moon  and its reflection on the ocean were spectacular.  Did I have the camera?  Nooo.  So, back the next two nights only to barely glimpse occasional, teasing moon color through heavy off-shore haze.  So, as they say, here’s some lemonade.

10 Responses to “SUMMER SNAPSHOTS AND PIXELS FOR POSTERITY”

  1. Ken Curtis Says:

    Enjoyed your post, Ralph.

  2. Jenn Says:

    Ralph,
    The possibilities for the pictures come at us every hour. It’s only our ability to be where we want to be WITH the camera (as you pointed out), that inhibits our production!
    Thanks for sharing what you captured. Look forward to seeing more.

  3. bob williams Says:

    Great anniversary picture but I wonder how long it took the last person to get a drink.

  4. MikeP Says:

    Very nice tribute to the club… I love the part about the thumb drive. Here’s to 50 more years.

  5. Pat Worley Says:

    A wonderful blog Ralph! It looks like you have been busy and congrats on the publishing of your photos.


Leave a Reply

